GENERAL SESSION Rocky Mountain Ballroom

Honorable Lavenski R. Smith Chief Judge, Eighth Circuit Presiding Officer of the Conference

8:30 am Presentation of Colors

High Frontier Honor Guard from Peterson Space Force Base

National Anthem

Honorable Michael E. Romero Chief Judge, U.S. Bankruptcy Court District of Colorado

Opening Remarks & Presiding

Honorable Lavenski R. Smith Chief Judge, Eighth Circuit

Welcome

John W. Suthers Mayor of Colorado Springs, Colorado

Remembrance of The Honorable Laurie Smith Camp

Senior U.S. District Judge District of Nebraska Presented by: Honorable John M. Gerrard U.S. District Judge District of Nebraska

9:10 am What My Grandparents' Experiences in the Holocaust Taught Me about the

First Amendment
Honorable David R. Stras

U.S. Circuit Judge Eighth Circuit Court of Appeals

9:45 am Break

10:00 am Qualified Immunity

Alan Chen Professor Sturm College of Law

John F. Kautzman Partner Ruckelshaus Kautzman Blackwell Bemis Duncan & Merchant, LLP

Fred Smith, Jr. Associate Professor of Law Emory University School of Law

Christopher J. Walker John W. Bricker Professor of Law The Ohio State University Moritz College of Law

Moderator:

Honorable Patrick J. Schiltz U.S. District Judge District of Minnesota

Introductions by:
Adine S. Momoh
Partner
Stinson, LLP

11:00 am BREAKOUT SESSIONS Pandemic-Related Litigation

1- <u>Criminal Law</u>

Broadmoor Main: Theater

Peter E. Deegan Partner Taft Stettinius & Hollister, LLP

Lee T. Lawless Federal Public Defender (Ret.) Eastern District of Missouri

Moderator:

Mikala Purdy-Steenholdt Assistant United States Attorney District of Nebraska

2- Civil Matters

Rocky Mountain Ballroom

Todd M. McGuire Partner Stueve Siegel Hanson, LLP

Todd A. Noteboom Partner Stinson, LLP

Paul E. Traynor Visiting Assistant Professor of Law University of North Dakota School of Law

3- <u>Bankruptcy Law: Economic Trends</u> and Hot Topics – An Insolvency <u>Professionals' Survival Kit</u>

Divide II

Honorable Shon Hastings Chief Judge, U.S. Bankruptcy Court District of North Dakota

J. Thomas Beckett Shareholder Parsons Behle & Latimer

Kristina M. Stanger Shareholder Nyemaster Goode, PC

Moderator:

Honorable Robert J. Kressel Retired U.S. Bankruptcy Judge District of Minnesota

12:00 pm CONFERENCE LUNCHEON

West Ballroom

Luncheon Speaker:

Brigadier General Linell A. Letendre

Dean of the Faculty

U.S. Air Force Academy, Colorado

Introduction by:

Honorable Lavenski R. Smith Chief Judge, Eighth Circuit

1:15 pm Break

1:30 pm GENERAL SESSION

Rocky Mountain Ballroom

The Future of the Franchise: Election Law After the Events of 2020

Rebecca Green

Professor of the Practice of Law, Kelly Professor of Excellence in Teaching, Co-Director of the Election Law Program William & Mary Law School

Derek T. Muller Professor of Law The University of Iowa College of Law

Joshua S. Sellers Associate Professor of Law Sandra Day O'Connor College of Law Arizona State University

Moderator:

Honorable Raymond W. Gruender United States Circuit Judge Eighth Circuit Court of Appeals

2:30 pm Break

2:45 pm BREAKOUT SESSIONS

1- Mental Health and the Practice of Law During a Pandemic – We've All Been Through a Lot: The Pandemic's Impact on Judges and Lawyers Pooley Mountain Pallroom

Rocky Mountain Ballroom

Honorable Jeremy Fogel (Ret.) Executive Director Berkeley Judicial Institute UC Berkeley School of Law

Bree Buchanan, JD, MSF Senior Advisor Krill Strategies

Terry A. Maroney Professor of Law Professor of Medicine, Health and Society Vanderbilt Law School

Hope Wood Attorney at Law Hope Wood JD, PLLC

Moderator:
Pamela R. Reiter
Managing Partner
Johnson, Janklow, Abdallah & Reiter

2- How a Representative Judiciary Ensures Judicial Legitimacy

Broadmoor Main: Theater

Sybil L. Dunlop Attorney Greene Espel, PLLP

Lola Velazquez-Aguilu Lead Counsel for Brain Modulation Medtronic

Jenny Gassman-Pines Attorney Greene Espel, PLLP

Introductions by: Honorable Lavenski R. Smith Chief Judge, Eighth Circuit

Honorable Jane Kelly United States Circuit Judge Eighth Circuit Court of Appeals

FRIDAY, OCTOBER 29

7:00 am Registration (closes at 4:00 pm)
Broadmoor West: Mountain View Foyer

7:30 am Federal Practice Committee Breakfast Meetings

Eastern and Western Arkansas Divide Room II

Northern and Southern Iowa Carnation Room

Minnesota Bailey Room

Eastern Missouri Divide Room I

Western Missouri Cascade Room

Nebraska Cheyenne Mountain Room

North Dakota Gaylord Ballroom

South Dakota Academy Room

8:30 am **GENERAL SESSION**

Rocky Mountain Ballroom

Presentation of Richard S. Arnold Awards for Distinguished Service and Lifetime Achievement

Presented by:
Jeffrey P. Justman
President, Board of Directors
Eighth Circuit Bar Association

Geoffrey D. Kearney Board of Directors Eighth Circuit Bar Association

Stephen P. Safranski Board of Directors Eighth Circuit Bar Association

Award Recipients: Gordon S. Rather, Jr. Eastern District of Arkansas

Dean Cynthia E. Nance Western District of Arkansas

James Whalen Northern and Southern Districts of Iowa

Justice Mark S. Cady Northern and Southern Districts of Iowa

Daniel Gustafson District of Minnesota

Lee T. Lawless
Eastern District of Missouri

Dana Tippin Cutler Western District of Missouri

Stuart Dornan District of Nebraska

Michael J. Williams District of North Dakota

Stephanie Pochop
District of South Dakota

9:00 am U.S. Supreme Court Update

Pratik A. Shah

Partner

Akin Gump Strauss Hauer & Feld, LLP

Jeffrey B. Wall
Partner

Sullivan & Cromwell, LLP

Moderator:

Honorable David R. Stras

U.S. Circuit Judge

Eighth Circuit Court of Appeals

10:00 am Break

10:15 am Law, Justice, and the Holocaust

Ann M. O'Rourke Program Coordinator United States Holocaust Memorial Museum

William Frederick Meinecke, Jr. Historian United States Holocaust Memorial Museum

Introductions by:
Honorable Jane Kelly
United States Circuit Judge
Eighth Circuit Court of Appeals

12:15 pm CONFERENCE LUNCHEON

West Ballroom

Presentation of American Inns of Court Circuit Professionalism Award

2020 Recipient:

Honorable David S. Doty U.S. District Judge District of Minnesota

2021 Recipient:

Honorable Alice R. Senechal U.S. Magistrate Judge District of North Dakota

Presented by:

Honorable Lavenski R. Smith Chief Judge, Eighth Circuit

Luncheon Speaker:

Generation Z Goes to Law School

Laura Graham

Professor of Legal Writing

Director of Legal Analysis, Writing, and

Research

Wake Forest University School of Law

1:45 pm Break

2:00 pm **GENERAL SESSION**

Rocky Mountain Ballroom

Permanent Changes in Legal Practice and Education in the Aftermath of COVID-19

Honorable James Maxwell Moody, Jr. U.S. District Judge Eastern District of Arkansas

Steven W. Quattlebaum Managing Member Quattlebaum, Grooms & Tull, PLLC

Robert K. Vischer Dean and Mengler Chair in Law University of St. Thomas School of Law

Moderator:

Eric J. Magnuson Partner Robins Kaplan, LLP

3:00 pm Prayer, Protest, and Pandemic: The First Amendment in Times of Crisis

John D. Inazu
Sally D. Danforth Distinguished
Professor of Law & Religion and
Professor of Political Science
Washington University in St. Louis
School of Law

Kami N. Chavis Vice Provost Professor of Law and Director of Criminal Justice Program Wake Forest University School of Law

John J. Bursch Senior Counsel and Vice President of Appellate Advocacy Alliance Defending Freedom

Moderator: John M. Baker Attorney Greene Espel, PLLP

4:00 pm Conference Adjournment

SOCIAL PROGRAM

THURSDAY, OCTOBER 28

6:00 pm - **Bench/Bar Reception** 8:00 pm (All Conference Attendees)

Broadmoor Main: Lake Terrace Dining and Crystal Room

Co-Sponsored by the Eighth Circuit Bar Association and the Minnesota Chapter of the Federal Bar Association